Yoga Exercises – Yoga Asanas Guide

An overview of yoga exercises in the Arhanta classes

The following sequence of yoga exercises for beginners was compiled by Arhanta Yoga based on the sequence of Swami Sivananda, one of the most recognized spiritual leaders. Renouncing his medical career as a doctor, he dedicated his life to the practice of yoga and its recognition.

Related image


The original sequence consists of 12 yoga exercises or asanas and each of them stimulates a certain chakra; From the crown chakra (sahastar chakra) to the navel chakra (svadishthan chakra).

Hatha Asanas Classical yoga versus modern Yoga asanas

Arhanta Yoga follows the tradition of Swami Sivananda, adding five more postures to the series for a more complete practice. The yoga exercises in this sequence are classic yoga asanas.

The biggest difference between the classic yoga exercises and those of the modern one is that the former work the internal organs. Its objective is to maintain the health of the body by stimulating and balancing the functions of the organs. On the other hand, modern Yoga exercises focus on the development of muscles and flexibility. The purpose of Yoga practice has changed over the years, giving priority to physical appearance and health. Below you can read an article by Yogi Ram on the subject: How to practice asanas correctly? …



Structure of a Class of Classical Yoga

The yoga exercises explained below do not form a complete class of classic Hatha yoga since the class also includes moments of relaxation at the beginning and end of the class and between different poses.

After a little initial relaxation, you start with breathing exercises such as Kapalbhati (Fire breathing) and Anumom Vilom (alternate breathing). These breathing exercises help to clear the mind, improving concentration and experiencing the asanas more consciously. It is also very important to warm up to prepare the body for the following asanas. For this reason, we always carry out the sun salutation. Optionally we can add more warm-up exercises such as the leg raising posture or the dolphin posture.

The following sequence of yoga exercises is structured so that all the chakras are stimulated, from the coronal chakra in the Head Pose (Sirsasana) to the root chakra in the Mountain Pose (Tadasana). To fully benefit from a yoga class and rest the body after practice it is important to finish each class with well-deserved relaxation.

Yoga exercises and postures – Explanation and photos

Below you can find a detailed explanation of yoga exercises for beginners and advanced. All the asanas are explained step by step, accompanied by images for more accuracy.Also, the benefits of each yoga pose are explained in a way that allows you to experience each asana consciously. To avoid incorrect practices or injuries practicing the postures, you will also find common mistakes and against indications in the explanations.

Related image


These will be useful for practicing yoga at home and also for teachers who prepare yoga classes for beginners. A slight warning for those who practice yoga at home; To prevent injuries it is advisable to practice certain poses under the supervision of a teacher.

It is important to know that if you suffer from a certain problem, such as insomnia, you will need more than doing yoga exercises to solve it. Although each asana works a specific part of the body is the set of postures which will bring a positive effect to your body.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Best Embroidery Ideas

How to Use Polymer Clay for Happiness